The award is named after Rachel Carson (1907 – 1964) to commemorate her brave contribution to warn against uncontrolled use of pesticides.

The Rachel Carson Prize

The Rachel Carson Prize is an environmental award, to be given to a woman for her environmental involvement. It is presented in Stavanger, Norway, every two years. The prize is named after the marine biologist Rachel Carson (1907-1964) to commemorate her brave action to warn against hazardous use of pestizides and their harm to the balance in nature, as well as her history-making book "Silent Spring" (1962).

The Rachel Carson Prize shall highlight women’s contributions to environmental management and inspire to creativiy and innovation. It is meant to be a recognition of the work of the person who receives it as well as an economic encouragement.

The Rachel Carson Prize is a prize of honour, consisting of a sum of money and a statuette - ”The Cormorant” – made by the Norwegian artist Irma Bruun Hodne. This marine bird stands as a symbol for Rachel Carson's involvement to save the life in the seas, at the same time representing a species that is threatened by man's uncritical use of chemicals.

Sylvia Earle is the winner of The Rachel Carson Prize 2017

Sylvia Earle has led more than 100 expeditions...

Award winner 2015

(04.03.2015) Dr. Mozhgan Savabieasfahani has be...

Suggest candidates

WINNER 2017:

Sylvia Earle

Prize history: