The 2015 Prize Committee members:

Fiona Provan

IRIS (International Research Institute of Stavanger)

Naghmeh Keshavarzi-Rooniz


Ylva Gran

Nature and Youth

Suggest your candidate!

The Rachel Carson Prize is awarded every two years, on or around World Environment Day on June 5th. Individuals as well as institutions and others are welcome to nominate candidates worthy of receiving the prize. Deadline for nominations for the 2017 award is September 30th, 2016.

The prize is awarded to a woman who has distinguished herself in outstanding work for the environment in Norway or internationally.

The Board establishes a prize committee, consisting of 3 women from various societal sectors.The Prize Committee members for 2015 were Fiona Provan from IRIS (International Research Institute of Stavanger) - head, Naghmeh Keshavarzi-Rooniz who has a variety of experience from business and NGOs, and Ylva Gran from Nature and Youth.

The winner of the 2015 Prize was Mozhgan Savabieasfahani - the award ceremony was held in June. The next opportunity to propose a candidate will be in 2016, with deadline by the end of September. 

The nomination must be well founded and documented, and signed with the name and address of the proposer. The Board will come back for additional information, if necessary.
Please mail your proposal(s) to:

The Board of the Rachel Carson Prize
c/o Bodil Lande, Tinngt. 1, H0508
4014 Stavanger

 or e-mail it to: